Nike Missile Milwaukee Defense Area

Site designations and locations of Nike missile batteries surrounding Milwaukee are:
(M-02) Milwaukee/Brown Deer
(M-64) Muskegon/Prospect
(M-20) Milwaukee/Harbor Drive
(M-74) Waukesha
(M-42) Cudahy
(M-86) Lannon
(M-54)Hales Corners/Paynesville
(M-96) Milwaukee/Silver Spring.

Headquarters facilities were located in Milwaukee.

The Chicago District of the Corps of Engineers oversaw land acquisition, design, and construction of these sites. Regular Army and National Guard units operated these sites defending southern Wisconsin and the northern approaches to Chicago. Sites M-02, M-20, and M-74 were converted from Nike Ajax to Nike Hercules. This Defense Area was merged with Chicago-Gary in 1968.

The three Nike Hercules batteries remained operational until 1971.